Tribute to Miss Kitty

Earlier this year Miss Kitty passed away. A distinctive presence in the Manchester scene with the most effervescent personality that I can remember.

I met her first for one of my “sketchmeets” at Euston Station on her return to Manchester from London, and though she seemed very happy with the outcome it was admittedly not one of the best sketches I have made. Maybe because the train was coming in 20 minutes and I felt under pressure.

Later I was commissioned to paint her portrait by one of her devotees and as reference arranged to meet her once more in London in a break from her immensely packed schedule. This time I was late because of some train delay and we only ended up with half an hour for me to sketch . It was useful even if I only managed the barest of lines and later on I finished the sketch at home . I was pleased with this one and I felt it caught her character.

You can see the finished commission in this post .

When I heard that Miss Kitty had passed I wanted to show my own appreciation of her in a watercolour. In this Miss Kitty is standing at the foot of the Pearly Gates of heaven. But she makes no concessions for her new home . She is dressed in shiny black and ready for some fun!

It is planned to display this portrait at the Bitches UnleaSHEd party.

3 thoughts on “Tribute to Miss Kitty

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.